Percussion Keyboards Strings Winds Mixed Ensembles Electronic              

O Zaman
for piano

Work no. 230


    An atypical and very personal set of pieces; the Turkish title can mean various things such as "at that time", "then", "by then", "in that case", and so on. The titles of the individual movements are simply their durations as indicated by the software I used to typset the music. My feelings towards both Minilamism and Romanticism have always been mixed. I think these pieces were an attempt to resolve those, as well as other unresolved feelings and issues I had at the time.

    Having just completed the Four Guiding Paths, which were based on very old sketches, I kept thinking about my early music, my early influences – videogame music, Minimalism, tracker music; just how my life was, years before. Tove Jansson's The Spring Tune was one of my favorite short stories as a kid, and in it, Snufkin wanted to compose "a new tune, one part expectation, two parts spring sadness, and for the rest just the great delight walking alone and liking it". Quite a few pieces of tracker music I enjoyed as a teenager would fit the description, and I used to look up to those composers.

    But I don't think I've ever been able to make anything that would fit that bill.

    (Another work referencing Tove Jansson is Juhannusaatto, a satellite piece of Many Pink Butterflies.)

    O Zaman – PDF score

    Creative Commons License

    Except where otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed
    under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

    Artist Statement