Percussion Keyboards Strings Winds Mixed Ensembles Electronic              

The Dreaming Union
for orchestra

Work no. 240


    I don't believe these pieces could ever be performed in concert – it's a studio concept through and through. They require a large orchestra with a couple of percussionists and an electric guitarist. They're formed out of complicated conjunctions of rhythms and would need many rehearsals. Every piece uses the entire orchestra, and multiple relistens are a must to comprehend the entire piece. Best of all – and worst of all – each piece is tiny, averaging between 10 and 25 seconds.

    It's been years since I first read Brian Eno's comments on his work on the Windows 95 startup sound; how difficult it was for him to adjust to composing with milliseconds, and how after the project was done, normal durations seemed like "oceans of time." The Dreaming Union was a modest attempt at trying something similar – but the sound world is completely different, mid-20th century avant-garde rather than mid-90s electronics. Each piece is an independent work with its own beginning, middle, and end; they're meant to be listened to in random order, each work multiple times, to better understand what is happening in it.

    The title is from Lawrence Durrell's The Alexandria Quartet.


    Creative Commons License

    Except where otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed
    under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

    Artist Statement